Finding Databases by Subject
Allen Library subscribes to over 11 databases on your behalf, because they are valuable information resources for academic work.
There is also a good database selection available through the State of Kansas Library. We have added a new database:
Credo Reference , which will also search from the Allen Databases. It also has a great deal of research helps. Use the "help" button to see all the features.
Want to find the right databases for your subject?
Why use a database rather than the Web? The short answer is that a database is more likely to provide you with information of a scholarly nature, appropriate to college-level research projects.
Databases -
The Web -
Articles from journals and newspapers can be found in DATABASES. When in EBSCOhost, you may also search by Publication as well by the normal way of using key words in the search fields.
When searching for an article, choose 'full text' to get the articles that are complete, not just a summary:
If the Allen Library does not have the article, search EBSCOhost database for this article.
If this does not produce results, you may request a copy of the article by JOURNAL ARTICLE LOAN.
Many databases contain a mix of scholarly and popular articles. You can usually, depending on the database, screen out the popular articles by selecting a Limiter that says Scholarly or Peer-reviewed,
For example, in Academic Search Premier there is a check box:
Click in that box and you will get only scholarly results.