Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

About The Allen College Library

Includes information about what is available at Allen Library. Hours, Policies, New Books, Databases, etc.

Welcome to the Allen College Libary

 

Allen invests substantially in high-quality library resources for our students. For this assignment, you will need to visit the Allen Library. You may go in person to Iola, or utilize this library guide made just for you.

Many of your classes will require you to write papers for which you will need to complete research. To avoid plagiarism, you will need to cite the sources you use for your research. Search the databases provided locating different materials such as;  videos, e-books, journal articles, etc.,  covering various research topics, from the list below.

For this assignment, you will need to select one of the research questions below and provide five sources from the Allen Library Databases. Once you locate a source, find either the MLA or APA citation to copy and paste into a Word document.

After citing your sources, reflect on your experience using the library databases in a five-sentence paragraph.

If you have difficulties with this please call or email a librarian for assistance.

This assignment is worth 10 points. Five points for each correctly cited source and five points for your written reflection on your experience using the library resources. The reflection must be a minimum of five sentences.

Remember always to check your copied citations for accuracy and formatting. Below is a list of Helpful Links that explain how to check your citations.

Research Topics

  • Dinosaurs
  • Global Warming
  • Fashion
  • Entrepreneurship
  • Mao Zedong
  • Stem Cells
  • Schizophrenia
  • Evolution
  • Communism
  • The Dead Sea Scrolls
  • Gun Control
  • Steroids
  • Wage Gaps
  • Bullying
  • Censorship
  • College Athletics
  • Vaccination
  • Gay Marriage

Helpful Links

Tips and Tricks for Citing Souces.

All of the databases available at the Allen Library offer easy copy and paste citations. Once you have selected a source just look for the cite link, often found in the tool box or at the bottom of the page. Here you will find various citation methods that you can copy and paste onto your bibliography or works cited page.

Finding Citations on Databases

  • American History in Video: Look for the Cite button on the left hand side below the video screen.
  • Credo Reference: Citations are listed at the end of each article or image. Use tabs to selection citation method.
  • EBSCOhost and E-Books: Find the list of tools on the right side of the screen. Here you will find options to Cite, Print, and e-mail.
  • Films on Demand: Look for the citation link below each video. Don't forget to check and see what citation method your instructor requires and to use the tabs to select the correct one.
  • Gale Opposing Viewpoints: Citation Tools can be found to left of your article.
  • Statista: Look for the citation drop down box on the left side of the screen.