Straightforward, practical, and focused on realistic examples, Business and Professional Writing: A Basic Guideis an introduction to the fundamentals of professional writing. The book emphasizes clarity, conciseness, and plain language. Guidelines and templates for business correspondence, formal and informal reports, brochures and press releases, and oral presentations are included.
Exercises guide readers through the process of creating and revising each genre, and helpful tips, reminders, and suggested resources beyond the book are provided throughout. The second edition includes new sections on information security and ethics in business writing. New formal proposal examples have been added, and the text has been updated throughout.
Small Time Operator is one of the most popular business start-up guides ever. In clear, easy-to-understand language, the author covers: -Getting permits and licenses -How to finance a business -Creating and using a business plan -Choosing and protecting a business name -Deciding whether to incorporate -Establishing a complete bookkeeping system -Hiring employees -Federal, state, and local taxes -Buying a business or franchise -Dealing with--and avoiding--the IRS -Doing business on the Internet -Handling insurance, contracts, pricing, trademarks, and patents In this new edition, the book will feature a section on surviving the Global Information Grid or GIG economy. The on-demand economy, also known as the sharing economy or the gig economy, is a new and greatly expanding business model that is basically nothing more than a mobile app that connects people who need some type of service--a ride, a delivery, a plumber, a house cleaner--with individuals who provide that service. There are hundreds of thousands of newly self-employed individuals. Uber alone claims that they have 160,000 workers just in California. The great majority of these on demand workers have zero experience or knowledge about self-employment. This book will give on-demand workers everything they need to know about being self-employed. Bernard B. Kamoroff is a C.P.A. with over thirty years of experience specializing in small business. A University of California lecturer, he is the author of five books on business and taxes.
Getting a new job or a big promotion is like building a house: You need to get the foundation right for both. With a job, the quick-drying cement is how well you do in your first hundred days, since they establish the foundation for long-term momentum and great performance. Tom Neff and Jim Citrin are two of the world's leading experts on leadership and career success. As key figures at Spencer Stuart (hailed by the Wall Street Journal as the number one brand name in executive search), they must understand the criteria for success when they recruit top executives for new leadership positions. Through compelling, first-hand stories you will hear from people such as Jeffrey Immelt, CEO of GE, on how his career has been a series of successive first hundred days. Larry Summers, president of Harvard University, talks candidly about what he could have done differently in his early days to avoid dissipating goodwill among the diverse constituencies important for his future success. Gary Kusin of Kinko's shares the specifics of the hundred-day action plan he crafted for himself before he started his new job. Paul Pressler of Gap Inc. shows how he developed a general strategic agenda that established fundamental principles and goals, waiting to prepare a more detailed strategic plan until later in his tenure. Tom Neff and Jim Citrin's actionable eight-point plan will be the foundation for your success.
Market research in business is changing. Questionnaire Design, fourth edition, delivers a complete handbook for the mounting challenge of acquiring more data in less time, generating an entire rethink on how data is collected. The growth in mobile devices is limiting the readability of traditional measurement tools, new consumer channels are altering access, whilst time spent answering questions is decreasing exponentially. This book provides practical guidelines to plan, structure and compose questionnaires across all industries and purposes, ensuring valuable data insights are captured with accuracy and efficiency. Fully updated, the fourth edition of Questionnaire Design includes a new chapter on how to navigate the multiple software options available, with guidance on how to engage and retain respondents earlier on at planning stage, using new mobile design approaches and measurement tools. Updates also cover advances in data privacy, maximizing international reach and managing the transition from face-to-face surveys towards soft launches online. Whether applying to business positioning, consumer insights, employee feedback or product analysis, the ability to gauge a market snapshot on a global scale is escalating the demand for online survey and questionnaire data, making this is an essential addition to every professional's shelf.
In his classic book, The Five Dysfunctions of a Team, Patrick Lencioni laid out a groundbreaking approach for tackling the perilous group behaviors that destroy teamwork. Here he turns his focus to the individual, revealing the three indispensable virtues of an ideal team player. In The Ideal Team Player, Lencioni tells the story of Jeff Shanley, a leader desperate to save his uncle's company by restoring its cultural commitment to teamwork. Jeff must crack the code on the virtues that real team players possess, and then build a culture of hiring and development around those virtues.
Beyond the fable, Lencioni presents a practical framework and actionable tools for identifying, hiring, and developing ideal team players. Whether you're a leader trying to create a culture around teamwork, a staffing professional looking to hire real team players, or a team player wanting to improve yourself, this book will prove to be as useful as it is compelling.
This is a database that provides information about various industries, business basics, and start up kits and videos.
*The Small Business Reference Center collection is provided through the Kansas State Library. You will need a state library card for access. Contact the ACC Library for more details.
An educational resource and advocate for non-profit organizations, it provides information on the latest trends affecting non-profits, tools on how to start a non-profit and access to non-profit incentives and job opportunities.